Risen Easter Sunday Church Website Banner

History of the Akron Church of the Brethren

The Akron Church of the Brethren has been an active participant in the local community and within the Church of the Brethren for over 100 years.  The Akron Church of the Brethren was organized on April 5, 1913.  The congregation developed out of the Mohler (Springville) and Middle Creek (West Conestoga) congregations.  Initially, there were two meetinghouses: the Steinmetz meetinghouse, which was built in 1847, and the Akron house, which was built in 1898.  The Steinmetz house was demolished in 1939 and the Akron meetinghouse was demolished in 1974, after the completion of the present church building on Main Street in Akron.

 Brief History of the Church of the Brethren

The Church of the Brethren is an Evangelical Protestant Church.  It was formed in 1708 in Germany under the leadership of Alexander Mack with an Anabaptist and Pietistic background.  The first Brethren came to America in 1719, settling the first church in Germantown, PA in 1723.  There are now approximately 1,000 congregations throughout the United States and Canada, with outreach in Ecuador, India, Haiti, Nigeria, Sudan, and China.  The headquarters of the church is located in Elgin, Illinois.